7 cups of tea

7 cups as it’s members lovingly call it is a chat room of sorts. People of all ethnicities and backgrounds can go on it completely anonymous to talk to someone who will just…listen.
There discussions can range from anger towards parents to suicidal thoughts. Any problems life can throw at you, you can type in the website and talk it out with someone complete uninvolved who has been through similar situations.
It helps.
I found them when I had a particularly painful depressive ‘peak’ as I call them, I decided I needed help, the thought of feeling like that for any longer was unbearable!
So I picked up my phone and typed ‘depression online help’, it took a moment of searching but soon I found it, the solution; 7 cups of tea.
They found me a listener, a girl from Turkey, she listened to my feelings, calming me down and so making the pain I felt, in my very core, manageable.
It honestly saved my life.
I will always remember that conversation and it inspired me to become a listener myself. It was a surprising simple experience, you merely fill in a few details before taking part in their online, completely free, active listening course.
Listening isn’t easy, sometimes there isn’t anything clear that you can say and so you end up sitting there, thinking as quick as you can so they don’t get worried. Other times, you dearly want to give them advice but you can’t. That is the one rule to 7cups, you cannot give advice, no matter how good intentioned, after all you don’t know the whole story.
I guess what all this is really about is me asking if you think you could make a listener, or if you need to be listened to. Either way, 7cups will always be there for you.
Love you all
Littlestorys x

Leave a comment